Derelick building decisions don’t need to be in-camera – Live Tweeting from Justin McLeRoy on DTES buildings

I’ve been following what has been happening in Vancouver where two former hotels, now derelict, have been proposed as being bought by the City for $1.

The process has been notable as it has been quite out in the open as the City has proposed the purchase for $1, staff has come back with a report today.

In Port Alberni, this is more likely to have been done in-camera for something like the Arrowview, including the decision to buy or sell and the information around it.

The matter is being dealt with right now you can follow Justin McElroy on Twitter for updates.

Or you can see the proceedings live here.

Two simple fixes for our Election Fairness

Nope, this isn’t a Proportional Representation pitch (maybe another day)

It is much simpler. We all need to vote at the same time.

We’re a huge country spanning six time zones with different interests and issues in every region. The image below shows it’s even more complicated than that… what with Saskatchewan and some other spots not doing the Daylight Savings Time thing. (smart!)

Elections should be a unifying experience. No one should feel left out just because of when the sun rises and sets or when we all have to go to work. The most important job Elections Canada has is to ensure every Canadian has the same opportunity to vote.

The solution is simple. Make Election Day a holiday (or always hold it on a holiday) and then match the opening and closing times across the country.

If the Election is on a statutory Holiday, then far fewer people need to work and are free to vote whenever they want. Those that still must work, will still have advance polling days.

New voting times:

  • Pacific Time: 5:30AM -5:30PM
  • Mountain Time: 6:30AM-6:30PM
  • Central Time: 7:30AM-7:30PM
  • Eastern Time: 8:30AM-8:30PM
  • Atlantic Time: 9:30AM-9:30PM
  • Newfoundland Time: 10:00AM-10:00PM

We also free up a bunch of people who could help out with actually running the elections. Those poor Elections officials at the polling stations on Monday looked absolutely spent after most had been there for as much as 13 hours straight!

Students could also become more involved!

By starting and ending the voting simultaneously across the country, we eliminate the problem of the East deciding the election before some in the West have even voted without having to impose largely unenforceable restrictions on media and the public on reporting results.

Make it So Trudeau and Singh Minority Government!